Manage Customer Profiles and Address Books

To work on a client’s Address Book – update their profiles, deactivate, upload files and documents, send a message, create estimates, jobs and/or invoices, and many others – go to the Customer Module. Find the client from the Address Books List. Click on the name. This will open their Address Book in edit mode.

Update the Customer Profile

Keep your client’s profile updated and complete.

To update the client’s profile, go to the Edit Contact button at the upper right-hand corner of the customer’s address book page

This will open the Edit Customer page. Update the information, both from the General and Taxes & Payment Terms tabs as needed. Save the revisions.

Deactivate a Customer’s Address Book

Identify and deactivate customer accounts that have had no interactions with your company for quite some time. This way, you can try and understand why they have not engaged. With a better understanding, there’s an increased chance that these clients will re-engage. This is an extra step you may want to take before Deleting them from your system.

To Deactivate a customer, open the profile in edit mode

At the lower left-hand corner of the Edit Customer page, click Make Inactive.

From the Warning window that will come up, select Yes to continue with the deactivation. Select Cancel to abandon the action.

The customer’s address book will be moved from the Active Customers List to the Inactive Customers list.

Activate/Re-Activate a Customer’s Address Book

Deactivated clients’ Address Books can be reactivated at any time.

Go to the inactive customers list.

  • When Clients are deactivated, their profiles are moved to the Inactive (Deactivated) Customers table.  To go to this table from the Customer default page, click the More Actions button and select Show Inactive Customers.

Select the customer and open their Address Book in edit mode.

Go to Edit Contact.

At the lower left-hand corner of the page, click Make Active.

From the Warning window that will come up, select Yes to continue with the reactivation. Select Cancel to abandon the action.

The customer’s address book will be moved from the Inactive Customers List to the Active Customers list.

  • When Clients’ Address Books are reactivated, their profiles are moved back to the Active Customers table.  To go to this table from the Inactive Customers page, click the More Actions button and select Show Active Customers.

Delete a Customer’s Address Book

Delete a Customer’s Address Book that will no longer be used/updated or the profile was created in error. It is wise to exercise caution when using this function. Deleting a client may have an effect on other functions, settings or data. This action can not be undone.

If a Client has an active status, deactivate this first. An Active customer can not be deleted.

Move to the Inactive Customers table. Find the client to be deleted from the list and tick the checkbox to its left.

To delete multiple Customers, tick the checkboxes to the left of all the address books to be deleted. If all of those on the list will be deleted, just tick the checkbox of the Name header.

Go to the Actions button and select Delete.

From the Warning window that will come up, select Yes to continue with the deletion. Select Cancel to abandon the action.

The customer’s address book will be removed from the Inactive Customers list.